Short answer: In practice, yes. Federal law requires certification only for restricted-use pesticides, but every state and DC has a commercial turf and ornamental category, and at least 49 of the 51 require it for general-use products applied for pay too, including store-bought weed killer and weed-and-feed. Most states also license the spraying business separately.
51 of 51 jurisdictions have a commercial turf and ornamental pesticide category (state rules and agency pages, verified Oct. 7, 2026; see table)
5 years maximum before any applicator certification must be renewed (40 CFR 171.107)
13,080 pesticide applicators work in landscaping services, median pay $22.26 an hour (BLS OEWS, May 2025, NAICS 561730)
4 states (FL, MD, NJ, VA) certify lawn fertilizer applicators separately from pesticides (state statutes and rules; see fertilizer section)
This page is for lawn care and landscape maintenance operators who want to spray weeds, treat grubs or apply weed-and-feed for paying customers. It covers what the federal rules require, which state category covers lawns and ornamentals in every state, how the business license differs from the applicator license and the technician card, what exams and continuing education cost where the agency publishes them, and when fertilizer needs its own certificate. Everything links to the statute, regulation or agency page it came from.
For the wider picture (landscape contractor, irrigation and tree licenses as well as pesticides) see the landscaping license requirements by state. More state rules sit on the licensing hub.
This page is general information, not legal advice. Pesticide rules change and differ by county and city; confirm with the agency linked for your state before you spray for pay, and always follow the product label, which is the law.
Do you need a license to spray weeds for customers?
Almost always. The trigger in state law is applying a pesticide to someone else’s property for pay, not the toxicity of the product. Georgia’s rule is typical: a commercial applicator license and a pesticide contractor license are both required to apply “any type of pesticide, whether general use or restricted use, to the property of another person” for a fee, and that includes applications bundled into a maintenance contract (Georgia Dept. of Agriculture FAQ; GDA contractors page). North Carolina’s Commercial Ground Applicator license names “Landscapers/Lawn Care” as the first example of who needs it (NCDA&CS).
“Pesticide” is broader than most crews assume. It includes herbicides, insecticides, fungicides and plant growth regulators. Wisconsin’s compliance checklist for landscape businesses lists weed-and-feed, Roundup, 2,4-D, Preen and even corn gluten meal as pesticides (Wis. DATCP landscape checklist), and Ohio State’s extension guide says a license is needed “even if retail garden center products or minimum-risk products” are used (Ohioline ANR-0140). Weed-and-feed is a pesticide everywhere: Illinois Extension says you need no license to apply plain fertilizer for hire, but “Weed-n-feed” and “Grub-n-Feed” products require a commercial license (Illinois Extension, Jan. 2026).
EPA registration numbers, grass restrictions and heat limits for 23 lawn herbicides that crews commonly buy are compiled in our comparison of lawn weed killers.
Horticultural vinegar sold to kill weeds is one of them: 20 percent acetic acid products carry an EPA registration number and a DANGER label, as our vinegar weed killer guide explains.
Spot-spraying a client’s pampas grass with glyphosate counts too; the label rate and timing are in our pampas grass removal guide.
A few states carve out narrow exceptions for maintenance crews. None of them covers a routine lawn spraying program, and each comes with conditions that are easy to break.
| State | What is allowed without the full turf category | Conditions | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oregon | General-use pesticides as part of a landscape maintenance service | Not mentioned in ads or contracts; small residential lawns or gardens only; no restricted-use products; no fuel or electric-powered sprayers or spreaders; not on school campuses | Ore. Dept. of Agriculture |
| Florida | Limited Commercial Landscape Maintenance certificate: herbicides in plant beds, driveways, sidewalks and patios; “caution” or no-signal-word products on ornamentals | Handheld or backpack equipment only; never on turf (including weed-and-feed); cannot supervise others or run a pest control business; renew yearly with 4 hours of CE | F.S. 482.156; FDACS |
| California | Maintenance Gardener Pest Control Business license for gardeners who treat pests “occasionally” alongside mowing and cleanup | A qualified person holding QAC subcategory Q or Category B at each location; insurance or bond; county registration; if pest control is the main business, a full Pest Control Business license is required | DPR MGB packet |
| Utah | Business license without the usual 2 years of applicator certification | Only herbicide spot treatment as part of lawn maintenance, with products labeled “caution” or “warning”; individual certification still required | Utah Admin. Code R68-7-9 |
| South Dakota | No license for hand-powered application of non-restricted products to lawns and shrubs or trees up to 12 ft | Only if applied without compensation, so it does not help a paid crew | SDCL 38-21-37 |
The federal rule cuts the other way from what many operators expect. FIFRA makes it unlawful “to use any registered pesticide in a manner inconsistent with its labeling” (7 U.S.C. 136j(a)(2)(G)), whether or not you hold a license. A license does not let you go off-label; the label still governs rate, site and protective equipment.
Restricted-use vs general-use: what the federal rules cover
The Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act defines a “certified applicator” as someone certified to use or supervise the use of pesticides “classified for restricted use” (7 U.S.C. 136(e)). EPA classifies a product as restricted-use (RUP) when it could cause unreasonable harm without extra controls; RUPs “may be bought and applied only by a certified applicator or someone working under his or her direct supervision” and are “not available for purchase or use by the general public” (EPA, Certification Standards for Pesticide Applicators; EPA RUP report). Every other registered product is general-use (GUP).
So the federal floor only reaches restricted-use products. The states go further. EPA itself notes that “many state pesticide regulatory agencies require applicator certification to use all pesticides commercially, whether or not they are RUPs” (EPA), and that applicators must be certified in each state where they apply RUPs (EPA, How to Get Certified). For lawn care, the state law is the one that bites.
What 40 CFR Part 171 sets as the minimum
EPA rewrote its applicator certification rule in January 2017 (82 FR 952, Jan. 4, 2017). The current text of 40 CFR Part 171 sets the floor every state plan must meet or exceed:
| Requirement | Federal minimum (40 CFR 171) | What lawn care states commonly add |
|---|---|---|
| Who must be certified | Anyone using or supervising restricted-use pesticides | Anyone applying any pesticide for hire (at least 49 of 51 jurisdictions) |
| Turf category | 171.101(c) Ornamental and turf pest control | Subcategories for turf vs ornamentals, separate weed or herbicide categories |
| Exam | Written, proctored, government photo ID, no outside communication; core plus category (171.103) | Pass marks of 70% (NC, OH, CA, GA) and published exam fees |
| Minimum age | 18 for commercial applicators (171.103(a)(1)) | Same age floor for registered technicians (IN) |
| Recertification | At least every 5 years, by exam or continuing education (171.107) | 3-year cycles (NY, PA, OH, IL) or 2-year (CA); annual license renewal on top |
| Uncertified crew members | May use RUPs only under direct supervision, after training within the last 12 months, with label access, PPE, site-specific instructions and a way to reach the supervisor immediately (171.201) | Technician, operator or apprentice credentials, often required even for general-use products |
The ornamental and turf standard is specific about why lawn work gets its own exam: applicators must know the risks of phytotoxicity, drift and “non-target exposures,” and because applications happen near homes they must show “practical knowledge of application methods that will minimize or prevent hazards to humans, pets, and other domestic animals” (40 CFR 171.103(d)(3)).
State plan deadlines under the revised rule
The 2017 rule required states, territories, tribes and some federal agencies to submit revised certification plans by March 4, 2020. Existing plans stayed in effect until EPA approved the new ones, and in August 2022 EPA extended the expiration date for existing plans to November 4, 2023 (EPA). EPA’s page reports that 67 of the 68 proposed plan revisions have been approved, and that each approved plan carries its own implementation schedule, so applicators do not have to meet every new requirement on the day of approval. EPA counts about 1 million certified RUP applicators and an estimated 930,000 noncertified applicators working under them (EPA).
The practical effect for a lawn company: new federal minimums such as the age-18 floor for supervised RUP users and the 5-year cap on certification periods arrive through your state’s plan and its schedule, not directly from EPA. Your state agency’s current rules are the ones to follow.
Business license, applicator license, technician card: three different things
Most states license at two or three levels, and operators routinely mix them up on bids and insurance forms:
- The business license (called a pesticide business license, contractor license, charter or registration) lets the company sell spraying services. It usually requires proof of insurance and at least one certified person on staff.
- The certified applicator license belongs to a person who passed the core and category exams. That person may apply and, in most states, supervise others.
- The technician, operator or apprentice credential lets an employee apply under a certified applicator’s supervision, after training or a shorter exam.
| State | Business level | Certified individual | Field employee level | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New York | Business registration with DEC; $1,000,000 liability per occurrence; applications by employees only | Certified Commercial Applicator (core and category exams) | Commercial Technician: general-use products without supervision, RUPs only under direct supervision; Apprentice: trained, works under direct supervision | DEC certification; DEC business |
| Illinois | No separate business license found; at least one licensed Applicator at each location, plus insurance | Commercial Applicator: General Standards exam plus category exam | Commercial Operator: General Standards exam only; works under the Applicator | IDOA |
| Indiana | Pesticide Business License and liability insurance for any business applying pesticides or fertilizer for hire | Licensed for-hire commercial applicator (core and category exams) | Registered technician (training only) may apply general-use products and fertilizer | OISC, effective July 1, 2024 |
| Pennsylvania | Pesticide application business license; at least $200,000 liability ($100,000 bodily injury, $100,000 property) | Certified applicator; must be employed by a licensed business | Registered technician: trained under an applicator with 1+ year in the category; supervisor able to be on site within 5 hours; annual retraining | Penn State Extension |
| Ohio | Pesticide business license plus insurance | Commercial applicator: core plus at least one category | Trained serviceperson under direct supervision | Ohioline; ODA |
| Texas | Structural pest control business license, $300 | Certified applicator, $125 | Technician license ($125 renewal); apprentice registration ($125) needing 20 classroom hours, 40 hours on the job and 8 hours per category before testing | TDA fees; 4 TAC 7.132 |
| Oklahoma | Commercial business license, $100 per category, no more than $500 a year; the certification card alone “is not a license” | Certified applicator (core and category) | Service technician ID card, $20; a technician or certified applicator must be present at each application | ODAFF |
| Florida | Pest control business license, $300; employee ID cards $10 each; insurance of $250,000/$500,000 | Certified operator in charge, Lawn and Ornamental category | Employees work under the business license with ID cards | FDACS |
| Georgia | Pesticide Contractor License at each office, with at least one certified applicator | Commercial applicator, Category 24 | Not stated on the pages reviewed | GDA FAQ |
| California | Pest Control Business license, or Maintenance Gardener license | Qualified Applicator License (QAL) or Certificate (QAC), Category B | Not covered in the packets reviewed | DPR QAL; DPR MGB |
Two traps show up repeatedly. First, a certificate is not permission to work: Oklahoma says plainly that its certification card “is not a license to do pesticide work” without the business license (ODAFF), and Pennsylvania will not certify a commercial applicator who is not employed by a licensed business (Penn State Extension). Second, in Illinois an Operator may spray only the categories carried by the Applicators listed on the Operator’s license (Illinois Extension).
The turf and ornamental category in all 50 states and DC
Most states follow the federal pattern of a Category 3 for ornamental and turf, but the numbering is not standard. Michigan reverses it (3A is turf, 3B ornamental), Maryland’s turf category is 3(c), Ohio puts turf in Category 8, Pennsylvania uses 07, Colorado uses 206 and 207, and Washington replaced site categories with “weed control” and “insect and disease control” on January 1, 2026. Florida and Texas license lawn spraying under their structural pest control laws, and Alabama and Mississippi under a professional services law. Pick the category by the site you treat, then confirm it with the agency before you register for an exam.
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
| State | Turf and ornamental category | What the business needs | Agency | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Ornamental & Turf Pest Control (OTPS); category number not confirmed | Horticulture Professional Services license with a certified operator in the matching category | Ala. Dept. of Agriculture & Industries | ADAI; Ala. Code 2-28-1 |
| Alaska | Ornamental and turf pest control (18 AAC 90.300(c)(4)) | Not stated in sources reviewed; general-use work by uncertified staff only under direct supervision | Alaska DEC, Pesticide Control Program | 18 AAC 90.300 |
| Arizona | Ornamental and turf pest management certification (A.R.S. 3-3614(B)(3)) | Pest management business license with at least $500,000 financial security (A.R.S. 3-3615) | Ariz. Dept. of Agriculture, Pest Management Division | A.R.S. 3-3614; 3-3615 |
| Arkansas | Classification 4 Ornamental, Tree and Turf; Classification 5 Weed Control | License Holder business license plus commercial operator (same law as structural pest control) | State Plant Board, Pest Control Section | State Plant Board |
| California | Qualified Applicator License/Certificate, Category B Landscape Maintenance (subcategory Q, Maintenance Gardener) | Pest Control Business license, or Maintenance Gardener (MGB) license for gardeners who treat pests only occasionally | Dept. of Pesticide Regulation | DPR QAL; DPR MGB |
| Colorado | 206 Turf (also weeds in beds, xeriscape, sidewalks); 207 Ornamental | Commercial Applicator (business) license with a Qualified Supervisor | Colo. Dept. of Agriculture | CDA categories |
| Connecticut | 3A Ornamental & Turf (3B is golf course) | Commercial supervisory certification; business requirement not reviewed | DEEP Pesticide Management Program | DEEP categories |
| Delaware | Category 03 Ornamental and Turf | Pesticide Business License plus a certified commercial applicator | Del. Dept. of Agriculture | DDA |
| District of Columbia | Ornamental and Turf: (a) exterior ornamentals, (b) lawns and turf | Operator certification and license (20 DCMR 2401) | DOEE Pesticide Program | 20 DCMR 2301; 20 DCMR 2401 |
| Florida | Lawn and Ornamental, under the structural pest control act (Ch. 482); Limited Commercial Landscape Maintenance for beds and hardscape only | Pest control business license ($300) with a certified operator in charge | FDACS | F.S. 482.021; FDACS |
| Georgia | Category 24 Ornamental and Turf | Pesticide Contractor License for the business | Ga. Dept. of Agriculture | GDA categories; GDA contractors |
| Hawaii | Category 3 Ornamental and turf; certification tied to restricted-use pesticides | Not stated in sources reviewed | Hawaii Dept. of Agriculture, Pesticides Branch | HAR 4-66-56 |
| Idaho | Ornamental Pest (OP), plus Core | Professional Applicator license; business requirement not reviewed | Idaho State Dept. of Agriculture | ISDA categories |
| Illinois | Ornamental (3.1) and Turf (3.2) | Licensed Applicator at each company location, plus insurance; Operators work under the Applicator | Ill. Dept. of Agriculture | 8 Ill. Adm. Code 250.120; IDOA |
| Indiana | 3a Ornamental; 3b Turf (3b also covers fertilizer for hire) | Pesticide Business License and liability insurance; registered technicians may apply general-use products | Office of Indiana State Chemist | OISC |
| Iowa | Category 3: 3OT Ornamental and turf, 3T Turf, 3O Ornamental | Not stated in sources reviewed; license required to apply any pesticide on another’s property for pay | Iowa Dept. of Agriculture and Land Stewardship | 21 IAC 45; IDALS |
| Kansas | 3A Ornamental, 3B Turf, 3C Interior landscape | Pesticide Business License ($140 per category) with a certified applicator in each category | Kan. Dept. of Agriculture | K.A.R. 4-13-3; K.S.A. 2-2440 |
| Kentucky | Category 3 Ornamental, Turf and Lawn Care (also covers weed-and-feed) | Not stated in sources reviewed | Ky. Dept. of Agriculture | 302 KAR 26:020 |
| Louisiana | Category 3 Ornamental and Turf | Owner-operator (ground) license with a $25,000 bond or equal liability insurance | La. Dept. of Agriculture & Forestry | LDAF |
| Maine | Category III: 3A Outdoor Ornamentals, 3B Turf | Liability insurance for custom applicators; Spray Contracting Firm License for multi-applicator firms | Maine Board of Pesticides Control | 01-026 CMR ch. 31 |
| Maryland | 3(a) Ornamental plants and shade trees, exterior; 3(c) Turf and lawn | Not stated for pesticides; separate fertilizer business license (Ag. 8-803.4) | Md. Dept. of Agriculture | COMAR 15.05.01.08 |
| Massachusetts | 3(a) Shade Trees and Ornamentals; 3(b) Turf | Uncertified for-hire users of general-use products need an Applicator License (333 CMR 10.06) | Mass. Dept. of Agricultural Resources | 333 CMR 10.03; 10.06 |
| Michigan | 3A Turf; 3B Ornamental (reversed from most states) | Not stated in sources reviewed | Mich. Dept. of Agriculture & Rural Development | R 285.636.3 |
| Minnesota | Category E Turf & Ornamentals | Not stated; custom fertilizer application is licensed separately | Minn. Dept. of Agriculture | Minn. Stat. 18B.33; MDA |
| Mississippi | Horticultural pest control (HCP/HCPL); horticultural weed control (HCW/HCWL) | Company and operator licenses; $5,000 bond plus insurance (pest) or $2,500 bond (weed) | Miss. Dept. of Agriculture & Commerce, Bureau of Plant Industry | MDAC |
| Missouri | Category 3 Ornamental and Turf (Pesticide Technician license also available) | Not stated in sources reviewed | Mo. Dept. of Agriculture | 2 CSR 70-25 |
| Montana | (3) Ornamental and Turf | At least $30,000 liability insurance | Mont. Dept. of Agriculture | MDA |
| Nebraska | Category 04 Ornamental and Turf | Not stated in sources reviewed | Neb. Dept. of Agriculture | NDA |
| Nevada | Limited landscape; Weeds | Pest control license under the same law that covers structural work | Nev. Dept. of Agriculture | NAC 555.280 |
| New Hampshire | G1 Shade and ornamental; G2 Turf | For-hire firm registration; $50,000/$100,000 bodily injury and $50,000 property damage insurance | Division of Pesticide Control | Pes 302.01; RSA 430:33 |
| New Jersey | 3A Ornamental; 3B Turf (3B includes vegetation control on residential and commercial sites) | Not verified in sources reviewed | NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection | N.J.A.C. 7:30-6.3; 6.1 |
| New Mexico | 3A insecticides and fungicides; 3B herbicides (both ornamental and turf) | Insurance or surety bond (financial responsibility) | N.M. Dept. of Agriculture | NMDA |
| New York | 3A Ornamentals, Shade Trees & Turf; 3B Turf | Business registration with DEC and $1,000,000 general liability per occurrence | NYS Dept. of Environmental Conservation | DEC categories; DEC business |
| North Carolina | Category L Ornamental & Turf (Commercial Ground Applicator, license 026) | A licensed applicator at each business location | NCDA&CS, Structural Pest Control & Pesticides Division | NCDA&CS |
| North Dakota | Ornamental & Turf | $100,000 financial responsibility | N.D. Dept. of Agriculture (NDSU Extension trains) | NDDA |
| Ohio | 8 Turf; 6a Ornamental; 6c Ornamental Weed | Pesticide business license plus insurance | Ohio Dept. of Agriculture | ODA application |
| Oklahoma | 3a Ornamental and Turf Outdoor | Commercial business license, $100 per category (max $500 a year) | Okla. Dept. of Agriculture, Food & Forestry | ODAFF |
| Oregon | Ornamental & Turf: Herbicide; Insecticide/Fungicide | Commercial Pesticide Operator license with insurance | Ore. Dept. of Agriculture | ODA |
| Pennsylvania | 07 Lawn and Turf; 06 Ornamental and Shade Trees | Pesticide application business license; $200,000 liability coverage | Pa. Dept. of Agriculture | 7 Pa. Code 128.42 |
| Rhode Island | 3B Custom Grounds (shrubs, flowers, turf); 3A Shade Tree (Arborist) | Not stated in sources reviewed | RI DEM, Division of Agriculture | 250-RICR-40-15-2 |
| South Carolina | Category 3 Ornamental and Turf | No pesticide business license for Category 3; proof of financial responsibility | Clemson University Dept. of Pesticide Regulation | Clemson DPR |
| South Dakota | Ornamental and Turf Pest Control (ARSD 12:56:04:04) | Commercial applicator license ($35); business requirement not stated | S.D. Dept. of Agriculture and Natural Resources | ARSD 12:56:04:04; SDCL 38-21-17 |
| Tennessee | Horticulture Lawn and Turf (HLT) license; C03 certification | Pest control charter ($10,000 bond; $250,000/$500,000 liability) | Tenn. Dept. of Agriculture | TDA |
| Texas | Lawn and Ornamental; Weed Control (structural pest control law) | Structural pest control business license ($300) | Texas Dept. of Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Service | TDA SPCS; Occ. Code 1951 |
| Utah | Ornamental and Turf Pest Control (R68-7-7(3)) | Commercial Pesticide Business License | Utah Dept. of Agriculture and Food | R68-7-7 |
| Vermont | 3A Ornamental & Shade Tree; 3B Turf | Applicator must work for a licensed pesticide applicator company | Vt. Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets | VAAFM |
| Virginia | 3a Ornamental; 3b Turf (2VAC5-685-70) | Not stated for pesticides; fertilizer contractors need a certified fertilizer applicator | VDACS, Office of Pesticide Services | 2VAC5-685-70 |
| Washington | Insect and disease control; Weed control (site categories replaced Jan. 1, 2026) | Commercial Pesticide Applicator (business) license; Operator license for individuals | Wash. State Dept. of Agriculture | WAC 16-228-1545 |
| West Virginia | Ornamental and Turf (61CSR12A, 4.2.d) | Not stated in sources reviewed | W.Va. Dept. of Agriculture | 61CSR12A |
| Wisconsin | 3.0 Turf & Landscape | Commercial Pesticide Application Business License; individual license $40 a year | Wis. DATCP | ATCP 29.31; DATCP |
| Wyoming | 903 Ornamental and Turf: 903A Weed, 903B Insect, 903C Disease | Not stated in sources reviewed | Wyo. Dept. of Agriculture | Wyo. ag rules ch. 28 §5 |
Two rows carry real uncertainty. Hawaii ties applicator certification to restricted-use pesticides (HAR 4-66-56), and we could not confirm on a primary source whether it licenses for-hire general-use lawn spraying. West Virginia’s applicator rule refers to restricted-use products and its statute could not be retrieved (61CSR12A). Massachusetts covers uncertified for-hire users of general-use products with a separate Applicator License (333 CMR 10.06). Everywhere else, the sources state that for-hire application of any pesticide needs the license. To look up whether a specific company holds one, see how to check a landscaper license.
Weeds in beds, cracks and fence lines can need a different category
A turf category does not automatically cover every weed a maintenance crew sprays. Several states draw the line at the edge of the lawn:
- Illinois: killing grass and weeds along fences, in driveways and in parking lots needs the Rights-of-Way category, because that grass “is not maintained as turf” (Illinois Extension).
- New Jersey: 3B Turf includes “vegetation control on commercial and residential sites”; industrial weed control on driveways and fence lines falls under 6B Right of Way (N.J.A.C. 7:30-6.3).
- Ohio: 6c Ornamental Weed covers landscape beds, tree and shrub plantings, sidewalks and driveways; holders of Category 8 Turf and 6a Ornamental may also make 6c applications (ODA 2026-27 application).
- Colorado: 206 Turf also covers weeds in ornamental beds, xeriscaped or mulched areas and sidewalks or driveways outside rights-of-way (CDA categories).
- Indiana: 3a Ornamental covers driveways, sidewalks, residential parking areas, landscape beds and fence lines (OISC).
- New Mexico: the split is by product, not site: 3A for insecticides and fungicides, 3B for herbicides (NMDA).
- Wyoming: 903 is divided into weed (903A), insect (903B) and disease (903C) control (Wyo. ag rules ch. 28).
If your route mixes lawns, beds and hardscape, budget for two categories. The second exam is usually cheaper than a misapplication finding.
Exams, continuing education and fees where the agency publishes them
These are the states whose agencies (or their designated extension programs) publish exam rules, renewal cycles and fees clearly enough to compare. Credits and hours are as each state counts them.
| State | Exam | Recertification | Published individual fees | State fee per year* | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New York | Core and category exams after DEC eligibility training; adding a category takes 1 year of experience or 12 hours of category training | 3-year cycle; 10 credits for 3A or 3B, at least 25% category-specific | $450 for 3 years, first category; $150 each added; technician $450 | $150 | DEC; DEC credits |
| North Carolina | Core and Category L exams, 70% to pass, online or in person | Certified 5 years; 10 credits for Category L, earned in at least 2 calendar years | $75 a year license renewal | $75 | NCDA&CS; NC State Extension |
| Illinois | 100-question General Standards (70 to pass) plus 50-question category (35 to pass) | Exams valid 3 years with no lapse | $300 for 3-year Applicator license; $240 Operator | $100 | IDOA |
| Pennsylvania | Core and category exams; apply within 12 months of passing | 3-year cycle; 6 core credits plus 10 for Category 07 Lawn and Turf | Not on the pages reviewed | n/a | Penn State Extension |
| Ohio | Core and at least one category, 70% to pass; wait 5 business days to retake | 3-year cycle; 5 hours minimum, including 1 hour core and 30 minutes per category | $35 a year license | $35 | ODA; Ohioline |
| Georgia | General standards plus a category exam, 70% to pass; $45 per sitting | 5-year license; 6 or 10 credit hours per licensed category | $90 for 5-year applicator license | $18 | GDA FAQ |
| California | Laws and regulations exam plus Category B, 70% to pass; $115 per exam | 20 CE hours every 2 years, 4 on pesticide laws and regulations | $180 application; $270 per 2-year renewal | $135 | DPR QAL packet |
| Indiana | Core and category exams (3b also required to fertilize turf for hire) | 5-year certification; 20 CCH for 3b Turf, 15 for 3a Ornamental | Not on the pages reviewed | n/a | OISC; OISC CCH |
| Oklahoma | Core and category exams; $92 per exam | 5-year schedule by category; recertify by CEUs ($50) or retest ($92) | Business license $100 per category | n/a | ODAFF |
| Texas | Category exams $64 each | Not on the pages reviewed | Certified applicator $125; business $300 | n/a | TDA fees |
| Florida (LCLM) | Limited Commercial Landscape Maintenance exam, up to $150 | 1-year certificate; 4 classroom hours of CE to renew | Renewal $25 to $75 set by rule | n/a | F.S. 482.156 |
| Wisconsin | Certification in 3.0 Turf & Landscape | Not on the pages reviewed | $40 a year individual license, plus business license | $40 | DATCP form |
The spread is wide. Keeping one turf applicator certified costs $18 a year in state license fees in Georgia and $150 in New York, and California asks for 20 hours of classroom time every two years against Ohio’s 5 hours every three. The fee is rarely the real cost. Exam prep time, the hours of CE pulled off a route, and liability coverage at the levels several states require (Arizona’s $500,000 financial security floor, New York’s $1,000,000 per occurrence) are bigger line items. Build them into your overhead before you price a spray program; the method in our guide on how to bid landscaping jobs shows where overhead goes in a bid.
How we built these numbers
Fees, pass marks and CE requirements were read from each agency’s own page, application packet or rule (or the land-grant extension program the agency designates) on October 7, 2026. The “state fee per year” column divides the published individual license fee by the period it covers: New York $450 / 3 years = $150; North Carolina $75 annual renewal; Illinois $300 / 3 = $100; Ohio $35 annual; Georgia $90 / 5 = $18; California $270 / 2 = $135; Wisconsin $40 annual. It is an estimate of the ongoing state charge for one applicator in one category, not a total cost of compliance.
Fertilizer: when lawn feeding needs its own certificate
Plain fertilizer is not a pesticide, and in most states applying it for hire needs no pesticide license. Four states certify lawn fertilizer applicators anyway, mainly to protect water quality, and a few more fold fertilizer into a pesticide category or license.
| State | Credential | Who needs it | Renewal and limits | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | Limited Certification for Urban Landscape Commercial Fertilizer Application | Anyone applying commercial fertilizer to an urban landscape since Jan. 1, 2014; requires Green Industry BMP training. Yard workers using the homeowner’s fertilizer and equipment are exempt | Expires after 4 years; 4 classroom hours of CE (2 on fertilizer BMPs); fee $25 to $75. Does not authorize pesticide-fertilizer mixtures | F.S. 482.1562; FDACS |
| Maryland | Professional Fertilizer Applicator certification, plus an annual business license | Each business location applying fertilizer to non-agricultural property must have a certified applicator on staff; uncertified staff only under direct supervision | No phosphorus or nitrogen on turf before March 1 or after Nov. 15 (0.5 lb N per 1,000 sq ft allowed Nov. 16 to Dec. 1); 15-ft water setback, 10 ft with a drop or deflected spreader | Md. Ag. 8-803.4; 8-803.6 |
| New Jersey | Professional Fertilizer Applicator Certification and Training (ProFACT), run by Rutgers | Professional fertilizer applicators under the NJ fertilizer law (P.L. 2010, c. 112) | Recertification by credits; a 4-hour Rutgers class provides 8 ProFACT credits | Rutgers NJAES |
| Virginia | Certified Fertilizer Applicator | Licensees and contractor-applicators applying fertilizer commercially to non-agricultural land must employ or retain one | Trained applicators may work without the certified applicator on site; untrained staff need direct on-site supervision | 2VAC5-405-20 |
| Indiana | Category 3b Turf exam | Anyone applying fertilizer for hire on turf, through a licensed business | Same 5-year cycle as pesticide certification | OISC |
| Minnesota | Fertilizer license (separate from the pesticide license) | Anyone who custom applies fertilizer | Annual, Jan. 1 to Dec. 31 | Minn. Stat. 18C.415; MDA |
| Kentucky | Pesticide Category 3 | Covers “impregnated fertilizer” such as weed-and-feed on lawns | Pesticide license rules apply | 302 KAR 26:020 |
One combination catches crews in Florida: the fertilizer certificate “does not authorize the application of pesticides to turf or ornamentals, including pesticide fertilizer mixtures” (F.S. 482.1562(7)), and the landscape maintenance limited certificate does not allow any turf application (F.S. 482.156(4)). Weed-and-feed on a Florida lawn needs the Lawn and Ornamental pest control license.
What licensed applicators earn
BLS tracks pesticide applicators who treat lawns, trees and other vegetation as occupation 37-3012. Nationally there were 27,050 of them in May 2025 with a median wage of $22.28 an hour ($46,340 a year) (BLS OEWS, May 2025, 37-3012). Landscaping services (NAICS 561730) employed 13,080, about 1.4 percent of the industry’s workforce, at a median of $22.26 an hour. In the same industry, landscaping and groundskeeping workers had a median of $19.49 (BLS OEWS industry-specific estimates, May 2025), so the applicator job pays about $2.77 an hour, or 14 percent, more at the median.
| State | Applicators employed (37-3012) | Median hourly wage | Median annual wage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Florida | 4,530 | $21.74 | $45,210 |
| California | 2,260 | $21.67 | $45,070 |
| Georgia | 1,300 | $18.79 | $39,080 |
| Illinois | 1,040 | $23.21 | $48,280 |
| Colorado | 960 | $22.61 | $47,020 |
| Indiana | 950 | $23.32 | $48,500 |
| Minnesota | 950 | $23.57 | $49,030 |
| Michigan | 860 | $21.37 | $44,460 |
| U.S. total | 27,050 | $22.28 | $46,340 |
For the full pay picture across landscaping jobs, see our landscaper salary data; for the path from crew member to licensed applicator, see how to become a landscaper.
How to get a lawn care pesticide license, step by step
- Confirm which agency licenses lawn spraying in your state (agriculture department in most; the structural pest program in Florida and Texas) using the table above.
- Pick the categories that match your sites: turf, ornamentals, and a weed or right-of-way category if you treat fence lines, driveways or hardscape.
- Order the core and category manuals from your state’s Pesticide Safety Education Program, usually at the land-grant university (EPA list of programs).
- Meet any eligibility rule before the exam: experience or training hours in New York, Florida’s certified operator route, Texas apprentice training.
- Pass the core and category exams. Federal rules require a proctored written exam and government photo ID.
- License the business: business license or registration, proof of insurance or bond, and at least one certified person per location where required.
- Register, train and supervise technicians or operators, and keep application records as your state requires.
- Track CE credits from the first year; several states (NC, OK) do not count credits earned in certain years or all in one year.
How we built this page
The state table comes from our 50-state licensing dataset, built from state statutes, administrative rules and licensing-agency pages and verified on October 7, 2026; where an official host blocked automated access, the same official text was read through Cornell LII, the Internet Archive copy of the official page, or another faithful mirror, and the source link says so. Federal requirements were read from the current eCFR text of 40 CFR Part 171 and EPA’s certification pages. Wage data are BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates. We did not contact agencies, take exams or apply for licenses; we compiled what the agencies publish.
What lawn care operators ask about spray licenses
Do you need a license to apply lawn fertilizer?
In most states, not for plain fertilizer. Florida, Maryland, New Jersey and Virginia require a separate fertilizer certification for commercial lawn application, Indiana requires its 3b turf exam, and Minnesota licenses custom fertilizer application. Any fertilizer mixed with a herbicide or insecticide (weed-and-feed, grub control) is a pesticide and needs the pesticide license.
Label timing, rates and watering-in rules for each grub insecticide are compiled in our lawn grub treatment guide.
Do I need a license to spray herbicides in NC?
Yes, if you spray for pay. North Carolina requires a Commercial Ground Applicator license (026) for anyone applying any pesticide for compensation on someone else’s property, with Category L Ornamental and Turf for lawns. Certification lasts 5 years with 10 recertification credits, and the license costs $75 a year.
Do I need a license to spray herbicides in Ohio?
Yes. Ohio requires a commercial pesticide applicator license for for-hire work even with retail garden-center or minimum-risk products. Lawn crews usually need Category 8 Turf and 6a Ornamental (6c Ornamental Weed for beds and hardscape), and the business needs an ODA pesticide business license and insurance. The individual license is $35 a year.
Do I need a license to spray herbicides in Illinois?
Yes for hire. Illinois requires a Commercial Applicator or Operator license to apply general-use or restricted-use pesticides for hire. Applicators pass the General Standards exam plus Turf or Ornamental category exams; Operators pass General Standards and work under an Applicator. Fence lines and driveways need the Rights-of-Way category.
What license do you need to spray herbicide in Florida?
For lawns, a Lawn and Ornamental license under Florida’s structural pest control law, held through a licensed pest control business with a certified operator in charge. The cheaper Limited Commercial Landscape Maintenance certificate covers herbicides in beds, driveways, sidewalks and patios with handheld or backpack sprayers only, never turf.
How much does it cost to get a pesticide license in Florida?
Published FDACS fees: $300 per category for the certified pest control operator exam, $300 for the business license and $10 per employee ID card. The Limited Commercial Landscape Maintenance exam is up to $150, and the urban landscape fertilizer certification is $25 to $75. Insurance minimums of $250,000/$500,000 are a larger cost.
How to get a lawn and ornamental license in Florida?
Qualify by experience (3 years as a service employee of a licensed pest control company, 1 of them in Florida immediately before applying) or by education plus 1 year of experience, then pass the FDACS certified operator exam in Lawn and Ornamental. Horticulture, botany or agronomy coursework qualifies only for this category.
What are the requirements to obtain a pesticide applicator license in New York?
Meet DEC’s eligibility and training requirements, then pass the core exam and a category exam (3A or 3B for lawns). The business must register with DEC and carry $1,000,000 in liability coverage. Certification renews every 3 years with 10 credits for 3A or 3B, at $450 for the first category.
How to get a PA pesticide applicator license?
Pass the core exam and the category exam (07 Lawn and Turf or 06 Ornamental and Shade Trees), then apply to the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture within 12 months. You must be employed by a licensed pesticide application business. Keep certification with 6 core and 10 category credits every 3 years.
What license do I need to spray lawns in Oklahoma?
Commercial applicator certification in Category 3a Ornamental and Turf Outdoor plus a commercial business license from ODAFF ($100 per category, up to $500 a year). Exams cost $92. Employees who spray need a service technician ID card ($20), and a technician or certified applicator must be present at each application.
What is the difference between an applicator and an operator pesticide license?
In states that use the terms, such as Illinois, the Applicator is the person responsible for a company’s pesticide purchasing, storage and use, who passes the core and category exams. An Operator passes only the core exam and applies under an Applicator’s supervision, in the categories that Applicator holds.
What state has the strictest pesticide laws?
No agency ranks states. Among the states we compared, New York charges the most to stay certified ($450 every 3 years) and requires $1,000,000 in business liability coverage; California requires the most continuing education (20 hours every 2 years); Arizona sets a $500,000 financial security floor for pest management businesses.
Sources
- U.S. EPA, Certification Standards for Pesticide Applicators, Page last updated March 6, 2026. Accessed October 2026.
- U.S. EPA, How to Get Certified as a Pesticide Applicator, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- U.S. EPA, Restricted Use Products (RUP) Report, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- eCFR / U.S. EPA, 40 CFR Part 171, Certification of Pesticide Applicators, Current text as of Oct. 7, 2026. Accessed October 2026.
- Federal Register, Pesticides; Certification of Pesticide Applicators, final rule (82 FR 952), Jan. 4, 2017. Accessed October 2026.
- U.S. Code (Cornell LII), 7 U.S.C. 136, FIFRA definitions, Current text. Accessed October 2026.
- U.S. Code (Cornell LII), 7 U.S.C. 136j, unlawful acts, Current text. Accessed October 2026.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, OEWS: Pesticide Handlers, Sprayers, and Applicators, Vegetation (37-3012), May 2025. Accessed October 2026.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, OEWS tables, industry-specific estimates (NAICS 561730), May 2025, released May 15, 2026. Accessed October 2026.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, OEWS state estimates file (oesm25st.zip), May 2025. Accessed October 2026.
- NYS Dept. of Environmental Conservation, Pesticide Applicator/Technician Certification, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- NYS Dept. of Environmental Conservation, Certification Categories and Credit Requirements, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- NYS Dept. of Environmental Conservation, Pesticide Business/Agency Information, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- NC Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services, Pesticides Licenses, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- NC State Extension, Pesticide Applicator Certification and Licensing (2025 update), 2025. Accessed October 2026.
- Illinois Dept. of Agriculture, Certification and Licensing, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- University of Illinois Extension, Answers to common questions about pesticide licensing, training, and testing, Jan. 23, 2026. Accessed October 2026.
- Penn State Extension, Pennsylvania Pesticide Applicator Certification, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- Ohio State University Extension, Ohio Commercial Pesticide Applicator Requirements (ANR-0140), Current fact sheet. Accessed October 2026.
- Ohio Dept. of Agriculture, Commercial Pesticide Applicator License Application, 2026-27, 2026-27 licensing year. Accessed October 2026.
- Florida Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Pest Control Licensing and Certification, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- Florida Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Pesticide Applicator Licenses, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- Florida Legislature, F.S. 482.021, definitions, 2026 statutes. Accessed October 2026.
- Florida Legislature, F.S. 482.156, limited certification for commercial landscape maintenance, 2026 statutes. Accessed October 2026.
- Florida Legislature, F.S. 482.1562, urban landscape commercial fertilizer certification, 2026 statutes. Accessed October 2026.
- Georgia Dept. of Agriculture, Pest Control FAQ, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- Georgia Dept. of Agriculture, Pesticide Contractors, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- Texas Dept. of Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Licensing, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- Texas Dept. of Agriculture, SPCS Fees, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- Texas Administrative Code (Cornell LII), 4 TAC 7.132, apprentice registration, Current text. Accessed October 2026.
- Oklahoma Dept. of Agriculture, Food & Forestry, Pesticides, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- California Dept. of Pesticide Regulation, Qualified Applicator License packet, June 2025. Accessed October 2026.
- California Dept. of Pesticide Regulation, Maintenance Gardener Pest Control Business license packet, January 2025. Accessed October 2026.
- Office of Indiana State Chemist, Training, Certification & Licensing Requirements for Indiana Pesticide Users, March 12, 2024 (SEA 216, eff. July 1, 2024). Accessed October 2026.
- Office of Indiana State Chemist, Continuing Certification Program, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- Wisconsin DATCP, Individual Commercial Pesticide Applicator License Application, Form rev. 08/2022. Accessed October 2026.
- Wisconsin DATCP, Landscape Pesticide Applications Compliance Checklist, September 2016. Accessed October 2026.
- Maryland General Assembly, Agriculture Art. 8-803.4, Current statute. Accessed October 2026.
- Maryland General Assembly, Agriculture Art. 8-803.6, Current statute. Accessed October 2026.
- Virginia Administrative Code, 2VAC5-405-20, fertilizer application general requirements, Current text. Accessed October 2026.
- Virginia Administrative Code, 2VAC5-685-70, commercial applicator categories, Current text. Accessed October 2026.
- Rutgers NJAES, New Jersey Fertilizer Recertification Program (ProFACT), Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- N.J. Admin. Code (Cornell LII), N.J.A.C. 7:30-6.3, categories, Current text. Accessed October 2026.
- Minnesota Legislature, Minn. Stat. 18C.415, fertilizer licenses, Current statute. Accessed October 2026.
- Minnesota Dept. of Agriculture, Pesticide Applicator License Types, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- Kentucky Legislature, 302 KAR 26:020, Current regulation. Accessed October 2026.
- Oregon Dept. of Agriculture, Pesticide licensing requirements, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- Utah Admin. Code (Cornell LII), R68-7-9, commercial applicator licensing, Current text. Accessed October 2026.
- South Dakota Legislature, SDCL 38-21-37, Current statute. Accessed October 2026.
- Arizona Legislature, A.R.S. 3-3615, pest management business license, Current statute. Accessed October 2026.
- Colorado Dept. of Agriculture, Pesticide license categories, Current page. Accessed October 2026.
- The Green Industry Report, State licensing dataset (50 states + DC), per-state sources in the table above, Verified Oct. 7, 2026. Accessed October 2026.



